About NFA

Established by virtue of the National Fire Service Act, 1994 the National Fire Authority assumed responsibilities to provide fire services for the entire nation of Fiji in February 1995. Prior to this, the fire service in the country was provided by various municipal councils and the Board of Fire Commissioners of Suva. The largest and best organised of these fire services was the Suva Fire Brigade, which was administered by the Board of Fire Commissioners of Suva. Other fired brigades taken over were in the towns of Sigatoka, Nadi, Lautoka, Ba, Tavua, Labasa, Savusavu and Levuka.

In order to streamline communications and better administer the organisation, the Authority estabilished three (3) fire divisions namely: Central/Eastern, Northern and Western Fire Divisions, and appointed Divisional Fire Officers to head these three divisions.

Copyright 2019. National Fire Authority. All Rights Reserved.